The Bishop of Beverley

Bishop Stephen Race

Having first qualified as a teacher Bishop Stephen worked in both Kenya and Somerset before he was ordained in Carlisle Diocese. He had served all his ordained ministry in the north of England, mainly in South Yorkshire where he was a Parish Priest, Area Dean and Diocesan Director of Ordinands prior to his consecration in York Minister on 30th November 2022.

Glyn Webster

The fourth Bishop of Beverley was Glyn Webster, who was consecrated in York Minister on 25th January 2013. His entire ministry has been in or around the city of York, culminating in thireteen years as a Canon Residentiary of York Minister. Until his consecration, he served as a member of the General Synod of the Church of England, where he was elected as the Prolocutor of the Lower House of the Convocation of York.

Martyn Jarrett

The third Bishop of Beverley was Martyn Jarrett who was translated to the See of Beverley in 2000, having been Suffragan Bishop of Burnley, in the Diocese of Blackburn, since 1994. Prior to his episcopal ordination, he was the Vicar of St Mary & All Saints, Chesterfield for three years, before which he worked in the Ministry Division at Church House Westminster, latterly as the Senior Selection Secretary.

John Gaisford

The second Bishop of Beverley – the first of modern times, and the first Provincial Episcopal Visitor for the Province of York – was John Gaisford, who was consecrated in York Minster in 1994. Most of his ministry had been in Diocese of Chester, where he spent twenty-one years as Vicar of St Andrew, Crewe, eleven years as Rural Dean of Nantwich and, finally, eight years as Archdeacon of Macclesfield.

Robert Crosthwaite

The first Bishop of Beverley, Robert Crosthwaite, was in office as a Suffragan Bishop in the Diocese of York from 1889 until 1923. Following his retirement, the See was in abeyance until it was revived, following the passing of the Episcopal Ministry Act of Synod, 1993.